Apple (AAPL) Launches iTunes Store In 56 Countries

Apple (AAPL) on Tuesday announced the launch of its iTunes Music Store in Russia, Turkey, India, South Africa and 52 additional countries, giving music fans of these countries what they’ve always wanted: instant access of Apple’s massive online catalogue. The expansion brings the total number of countries where the iTunes Store is available to 119. Apple’s App Store is now available in 155 countries.

While all of the 56 newly added countries will be getting access to the most popular online music, TV and movie store in the world, only Russia, Turkey, India and Indonesia will support movie and video purchases, with more countries slated to get them in the future.

According to the announcement, there are over 20 million songs available to purchase and download via iTunes. For the locations where movies are available, fans can choose from a wide selection of films available for rent or purchase. HD video options are available for certain titles from major studios including 20th Century Fox, Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, The Walt Disney Studios and Warner Bros. Pictures, as well as leading local distributors.

Apple said “the huge rollout is evidence of Apple’s continued work to expand the reach of world’s largest music store by striking deals with regional music publishers and extend current licenses overseas.”

Disclaimer: This page contains affiliate links. If you choose to make a purchase after clicking a link, we may receive a commission at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.